top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaisy Parkinson

Mona Hatoum at the White Cube

The exhibition named ‘Remains to be seen’ is said to reflect on subjects that arise from our current global condition. The pieces that stood out to me, titled: ‘Remains’ and ‘Remains of the Day’ depicting ideas of home as being the opposite of the general connotation. The other pieces that stood out to me, titled: ‘Cells’ and ‘Stool II’ bringing forward ideas of confinement and looking at grids- something that largely defines and entraps people and their lives.


I found the processes used to create these pieces however, most interesting. Wrapping furniture in chicken wire and then burning it, leaving charred remains encased in chicken wire. Also glassblowing as a skill and method of creating fascinates me, so moulding glass to balance on the edge of the stool I thought was very innovative.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page