top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaisy Parkinson

The Photographers Gallery


The two exhibitions running during my visit that stood out to me were: ‘Feast for the Eyes, The Story of Food in Photography’ and ‘Shot in Soho’. ‘Feast for the Eyes...’ presented food photography as both an art form and a means of documentation. Some of the foods were presented in a very gory way that made me feel uncomfortable, however there were scenes presented that showed enjoyment of food. The diverse presentations of the same thing was very interesting to me, showing me that one thing can be transformed to portray many things.



The ‘Shot in Soho’ exhibition showed a side to Soho that isn’t widely shown in the media. The people of Soho - sex workers, members of the LGBTQ+ communities, musicians, models are represented through the intense photography in this exhibition. People aren‘t usually the subject of my own work, but shows like these inspire me to look at the diversity of people, people in their every day habits and working class communities.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page