top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaisy Parkinson

The Sculpture Park

Updated: Jan 16, 2020

My visit to the sculpture park near Farnham was an experience invaluable to my development as an artist. The sheer range of sculptures on display helped me to notice what I found most appealing aesthetically, what techniques I found interesting, what materials I most wanted to work in, and what styles/ themes/ subjects I would want to focus on in my practice.


I found that I was most drawn to quite traditional sculpture, such as stone carving, glass and ceramics works, as well as industrial looking pieces.

I tried to replicate through stone carving one of my favourite pieces (which was untitled and artist unknown) that I saw on this day, using soapstone. This really highlighted to me how skilled traditional practices such as stone carving really are and how intricate the techniques are that you have to acquire.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page