top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaisy Parkinson

Week 3 and 4 Reflection

After week two of this project I had initially decided that my final piece would work best being cast using plaster. Using the Vac form I made costs of the designs I had added on to breezeblock using air drying clay. My plan was then pour plaster into these moulds made from plastic and then use these casts as the moulds that I would use to make my final structure. I then realised that this would not work as affectively as I’d hoped as the plaster kept breaking when I tried to remove it from the plastic moulds even after using vaseline to try and ease removal. The smaller the mould, the more difficult removal was. Mending these casts afterwards proved to be too difficult and also made the designs more distorted and took away from the shapes I had made. I then decided that I could incorporate my love for working with Glass by using wax as a simple material that is comparable to Glass. Due to self isolating I couldn’t get my hands on glass wax which would have been nicer so I may do with colouring my own wax with crayons and pulling this wax into the plastic moulds. as the wax shrinks as it sets it came out of the moulds with ease. Experimenting with a range of colour also help me to see how I would like my final piece to look.


Unfortunately I realised it was near impossible to construct with the wax as hot glue would melt it and would slip off, not attaching the pieces together and making holes cracked the wax.

After this I decided it was best to re-focus on the construction of the final piece and the best materials to use to construct a study model rather than thinking about the designs that I wanted to incorporate into the piece.


I wanted to create some more abstract smaller versions of my potential final piece. So I used plaster slabs combined with left over breezeblock that I used earlier in the project To create more abstract architectural forms. I slotted the plaster together and drew some of my floor plan designs onto the plaster to add a more architectural-like look to the piece.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page