top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaisy Parkinson

Melvin Edwards - Stephen Friedman Gallery

This exhibition was particularly interesting to me as I found hit hard to decide whether I liked it or not. The aesthetics of the pieces appealed a lot to me, however the fact that most of the art was assemblages, was less meaningful in my eyes. Despite this, I could see that welding must have been used for the metal components of the piece. I was continuously intrigued as to how the forms had been pieced together.


The forms are quite abstract if looking from an architectural perspective; the context of his pieces being civil rights based gave the pieces a whole new perspective to be viewed from. Not only were the pieces sturdily built, but they had such strong meaning also.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page